Kraybill Mennonite School opened its doors on September 6, 1949 in what is now known as the Meetinghouse. It was part of Lancaster Mennonite School.
In 1971, Kraybill Mennonite School separated from Lancaster Mennonite School and was governed by its own board.
In 2006, Kraybill Mennonite School merged with Lancaster Mennonite School (later referred to as LM).
On March 13, 2018, LM Administration sent notice that it was planning to close the Kraybill campus.
On March 25, 2018, after strong Kraybill community support and a persuasive case put forth by the Kraybill Site Council, the LM Board of Directors voted to not close the Kraybill campus and to instead pursue an affiliate relationship with Kraybill.
On November 9, 2018, Lancaster Mennonite and Kraybill Mennonite School signed an agreement for Kraybill to become a separate independent school on July 1, 2019, as it existed from 1971 to 2006. A one year transition period during 2018-19 will make the transition as smooth as possible for students and faculty.
2006 Kraybill & Lancaster Mennonite Merger
December 1, 2005 Intelligencer Journal (now LNP)
This article offers some insight into the history and intent of the 2006 merger.
A School Grows in Donegal
The Story of Kraybill Mennonite School 1949-1999
by Elaine W. Good
This excellent book details the rich history of our school during its first 50 years. Feel free to ask for a copy. We found more!